OK, which one's the easiest ? 1000.2 or 1000.4

jimmooney

Original poster
Sep 23, 2008
WOW, all the info is great . . 1000.2 vs 1000.4. BUT, I have this dilemna: I'm brand new with Dish (I had Directv for 2yrs > > too $$$$). I just got a 622 HD-DVR for home. THEN, this Spring, I plan on buying a 211k for our motorhome, and use their Pay-As-You-Go program. (+$7/mo. period . . a bargain). BUT, which dish should I get: 1000.2 or 1000.4 ? I align using an Acutrac III, and really needed the fine-tune adjustments (Az & El) on the Directv dish. On the road I set up almost nightly (different campgrounds), so I'm looking for the easiest to align, and full nation coverage (excluding Key West & Wash. state). I wish there was a knob on the 1000.4 EL adjustment. Suggestions ? ? ?​

WOW, all the info is great . . 1000.2 vs 1000.4. BUT, I have this dilemna: I'm brand new with Dish (I had Directv for 2yrs > > too $$$$). I just got a 622 HD-DVR for home. THEN, this Spring, I plan on buying a 211k for our motorhome, and use their Pay-As-You-Go program. (+$7/mo. period . . a bargain). BUT, which dish should I get: 1000.2 or 1000.4 ? I align using an Acutrac III, and really needed the fine-tune adjustments (Az & El) on the Directv dish. On the road I set up almost nightly (different campgrounds), so I'm looking for the easiest to align, and full nation coverage (excluding Key West & Wash. state). I wish there was a knob on the 1000.4 EL adjustment. Suggestions ? ? ?​

As for setting up the dishes there really is no difference as for fine tuning the 1000.4 has fine tuning cams and rods.

If hd is not an issue while camping, I would just get a 500 dish with a DishPro Plus Twin LNB. Much easier to aim. If HD is a must have, I personally would go with the 1000.2 dish. Easier to aim than k.4 IMHO.

The 1000.2 WA setup is different from the 1000.4 EA setup. They are not interchangeable.