DVR install question (dual-tuner)

Status
Please reply by conversation.

bobmckenzie

Original poster
Jan 19, 2006
Hi all,
Newbie here, so hope i don't get terminology wrong.

I'm moving from dish (old DVR system) to Direct TV and I've got a DVR system coming with dual-tuner capability. I believe i'll need two lines from the dish to the receiver to take advantage of the dual tuner. However, I'm on a slab in a two storey house in atlanta, ga so i believe they will attempt a two storey wall fish.

My question is, instead of running two lines, is it possible to diplex the two signals from the dish onto one coax cable running into the house and then split it again before it goes into the receiver?

I know the splitting is possible - that's how they'll handle multiple TVs/multiple receivers, I was curious about multiplexing two signals on to one cable? that would be a whole lot simpler than running a second line.

TIA for the advice,
Bob

Nope. Dplexors only work with two different frequency bands.

A multiplexor is a device that places more than one frequency spectrum on one line or one signal.

A triplexor places three frequency spectra on one line or one transmitted signal.

A diplexor is a device that places two frequencies in one line.

The so called "combiner" is a diplexor. The sat c lnb has a lower frequency than the sat b lnb.

A multiswitch with only a sat b lnb f1xed to the tone input port will see and translate sat b transponders.

A multiswitch with ony a sat c lnb f1xed to the tone input port will see and translate sat c transponders.

With both the sat b and sat c signals sent to the cable with the combiner (which is electronically a diplexor), the 22 Khz port sees both the sat b and sat c transponders.

Another type of diplexor called a combiner is a common TV VHF/UHF combiner allowing the placement of two separate differing frequency spectra on one cable.