Do I have the right gear?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

gazer

Original poster
Feb 13, 2005
Hi, Another Newbie here with many questions. :D
I recently bought the following things to try and get into the FTA way of doing things.
I should have done more reading on this site first as it seems to be filled with knowledgeable people, but oh-well.Here is what I bought, I tried to set it up with my true south sat. (AMC5) as I am at 79w,43N. Will this set-up receive this amc5 sat?

-Pansat 2500a FTA reciever
-32" Qsat dish with tri-pod
- Fortec star FSKU-V Universal single LNBF
-Microyal DisEqc 1.2 H-H Motor (H2H)

My intent was to grab as many KU birds as possible,but after reading the manuals and Info from this site, I still can't get AMC5 to come in? Lots of signal, no quality.

Also, on another note, i noticed the motor manual said it had a built in sat. table? what does this mean exactly? the motor has a brain?
thanks for any and all replys.

Hello and welcome to the SatelliteGuys.US FTA/MPEG2 forum!

The system you have will work for all the FTA channels (Including AMC-5)

You have to enter the coordinates of a live channel/TP and watch for signal quality as you slowly move the dish, taking small stops every few seconds when moving the dish.

I would use the below to find AMC-5

Kuen-TV

DFreq:11742 MHz (V)
SR : 11.110

or

NYN-1

Dfreq:12179(H)
SR : 23.000 Msps

The motor will have some pre-stored satellite positions using the "GOTO" function/protocol. Since your receiver has USALS I do not think you will need the prestored positions, GOTO is an older way to motor your dish, stick to USALS or DiSEqC 1.2/3 if you can.

Not too familiar with the motor as most people here seem to have the SG2100 but keep the questions coming and we will help all we can!

The L.O. setting for a Universal LNBF is

09750-10600

Hi thanks for replying, I hate to sound like a nub, but what is a "kuen-tv"?