What in the world am I doing wrong?

Pepper

DVR Addict~Mad Scientist
Original poster
Supporting Founder
Mar 16, 2004
Satsuma, AL
I have a ChannelMaster 3040842-02 1.0M-02 (the huge round one - 43 inches high by 40 inches wide). Using the stock feedhorn and a new dual-feed standard LNB. I've tried it on 97W, 99W, and 103W.

This dish is giving me fits. Pointed at the same satellite, a SuperDish (24 inches high by 33.5 inches wide) will consistently provide higher signal levels (around 20-25% more) than the ChannelMaster. I would think, all other things being equal, my signal with this big dish should be a lot better than what I am getting, and certainly should be a lot more than what I can get with a smaller dish.

I've checked everything I can think of. No obstructions, good cables, good LNB that works just fine when attached to a different dish. As far as I can tell, it's not bent or warped (how could it be, molded fiberglass would more likely be cracked and broken than bent)

Before I pull the rest of my hair out, any suggestions?

20240921_234341214_iOS.jpg

ChannelMaster (right) gets consistently lower signal than the SuperDish right next to it.

View attachment 174937
ChannelMaster (right) gets consistently lower signal than the SuperDish right next to it.
Ok, LOOK at the lnb feed. You have it strapped by the feedhorn, YET, it should be strapped closer to the lnb where the GROOVES are... So, move the face of it closer to the dish, and put the groove area in the saddle. I circled it in red below
20240921_234341214_iOS.jpg

Reactions: comfortably_numb
Ok, LOOK at the lnb feed. You have it strapped by the feedhorn, YET, it should be strapped closer to the lnb where the GROOVES are... So, move the face of it closer to the dish, and put the groove area in the saddle. I circled it in red below
View attachment 174938