Oh boy...

I started programming in HEX, and sometimes in OCTAL, after a brief stint in binary. Taught me to appreciate high order languages.
When I took my first computer class (BASIC programming on a PDP-8/L), we had to "key in" the tape reader bootstrap using paddle switches each morning before loading BASIC from a punched tape on a Teletype Model 33 ASR. The computer had 4K of magnetic core RAM.

One of the eggheads had memorized the entire sequence of switch settings that comprised in the bootstrap.

Yes, assembler was what I used a lot. Efficient , but slow to write. I used assembler in links from higher level languages to make things run acceptably. Nice they allowed such calls.

Wayback machine on full.

Wednesday morning update...

Almost 24 hours since removing http2 from our config and things have been running well. While http2 is faster the page loading is still very snappy and faster than the old server.

Interesting observation is that about 90% of the hack attempts have stopped since turning off http2.

Also noticed something else... yesterday I added more server monitoring with the addition of uptime.satelliteguys.us and the thing I noticed is the server ping check is not as accurate as I would hope it would be. Since PING replies from servers are always the lowest priority on a server there are times where I get a notice that the server did not answer the ping.

On a separate computer, on a different ISP I am also running Ping Plotter that is pinging us and a number of other sites as well. I want to see if the ping failures are real failures (indicating a problem at our host and not with the machine) out just because of the way pings are served.