Need help with IntelAmer5K

Status
Please reply by conversation.

afsalam

Original poster
Jul 14, 2011
Wyoming
Hi everyone. I am new to this stuff and need help fixing my satellite. I have a samsonite satellite which I believe is 32 inches in diameter, a Samsung DSB-4700F receiver. I have had this system for about 5 years now and didn't have any problems. Just took it out of the box and followed the instructions and it worked perfectly. For the past 4 months the signal has been worsening where I was only able to watch the dish at night as it would not work in the morning. Well 2 months ago I completely lost reception and tried setting up the satellite with the instructions I have, but no luck. I thought that maybe the LNB had gone out so I bought a new one, which is a Fortec-Star Universal Single LNBF. I still can't find a signal.

I am specifically trying to setup the IntelAmer5K satellite. When I go to the setup screen the signal strength stays at 30% and never changes. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Oh, I live in Cheyenne, Wyoming. Thanks.

Not familiar with the equipment, but all the receivers "Signal Strength" meters I know of just show the receiver-coax-lnb integrity. The Q, or Quality, show the signal from the satellite. Unplug the coax going to the LNB and check the Signal Strength meter. Is it the same as when connected?(unplug the receiver when messing with the LNB coax) If so it may be a problem in the coax. Corroded connector, animal damage, etc. Something broken. Since you said it degraded over months, I lean towards corrosion somewhere. My receiver will show a Signal Strength of 40 with a good LNB(not aimed at a sat) 80+ when the Q meter reads anything(on a satellite), and around 5 or so with no LNB connected.
Another Question, was the original LNB also a Universal? If not, settings have to be changed in the receiver setup.
EDIT-FYI 97W G19 (formerly G25/IA5/T5) I had to remind myself!