Gbox keeps overwriting previously stored satelites

Status
Please reply by conversation.

ultimaterdw

Original poster
Dec 5, 2010
central texas
Let me start with I am a newbie. Bought the motorized BUD from Sadoun and thought lining things up would be the hardest part. It was difficult but I finally get satellites from 45 degrees over to 137 degrees but I am having a problem storing them in my Geosat pro DSR200 receiver and or gbox. The 1st few went fine, but then the gbox started storing them in previously used positions. I reset everything and stared renaming them as I stored them but that didn't help and I was about to do it again but thought I would seek expert advice first.
Another perhaps dumb question, do I need to store both C and Ku positions in my receiver if a satellite has both signals?
One other thing, I am considering upgrading to a HD receiver, can anyone recommend one? There are so many out there and I still want to be able to get C and Ku with one receiver.
Any help appreciated

Try programming the Gbox via it's remote. Don't run the coax through the Gbox. That will isolate problem to one or the other.
do I need to store both C and Ku positions in my receiver if a satellite has both signals?
Usually the same position # can be used for C and Ku at an orbital position. Occasionally, C and Ku has to be offset from one another slightly and requires two position #'s. It ultimately depends on your dish. Does it focus C and Ku at the same point?
HD receiver, can anyone recommend one?
Yeah, I call it the SSO. SatHawk or Solomend or Openbox. HD, S2, blindscan, PVR. (NO 4.2.2) Sadoun has 'em

I had a similar problem. I ended up forgetting about letting my receiver control the dish through the gbox. And I don't like to use the satellites already programmed in to the gbox. I set them all by the last two digits of the satellite position. 45, 55, 58, 72, 77, 91, 99, 01, 03, 11, 21 ...etc. Use two remotes, better than having it drive you insane