Tips and Suggestions for C-Band Dish Installation?

caramel

Original poster
May 22, 2024
USA
Hi everyone, I am new to C-Band satellites and have just acquired a 10ft dish and a 4in x 8.2ft steel pipe from the marketplace.

Does anyone have tips or suggestions for installing the post? Specifically, how deep should I dig the hole, and what are the best practices for using concrete? Fast Setting mix VS High Strength mix? Do I need to put gravel at the bottom of the hole? I’ve searched through various C-Band dish installation guides on YouTube, but none seem to cover post installation.

I assume I need to dig a hole measuring 12 inches in diameter and 3 feet deep, place the post inside, and then pour in concrete and water?

Attachments

• IMG_4868.jpeg
    IMG_4868.jpeg
    305.7 KB · Views: 54
Last edited:
Reactions: FTA4PA
caramel,

I’ve always placed my satellite poles on a tripod which would be of help if the ground shifted, resulting in a pole not perfectly plumb. Without a tripod you are at the mercy of your soil’s composition.
However, many enthusiasts just place their pole in the ground, with proper preparation, and are successful.
Never the less, I placed gravel at the bottom of each base I made, to aid in stability.
I just used regular strength cement and let it set up for several days depending on the temperature…always mild in my case.
The hole I dug was three feet deep and slightly widened at the bottom for stability.
Good luck and welcome to the satellite community.

John

Hi everyone, I am new to C-Band satellites and have just acquired a 10ft dish and a 4in x 8.2ft steel pipe from the marketplace.