Status
Please reply by conversation.

iafirebuff

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Feb 10, 2006
Waterloo, Iowa
I love this forum! Anyway, I am looking at the following from Sadoun:

Fortec Star Lifetime Classic NA REceiver, 31" Dish with a Universal 0.4db Single LNB. I am located in Iowa - 50701. I want to watch Retro TV, and any other like stations. My other choice is the same set up, but with a motor. If I have the dish pointed at Galaxy 10, do you think this will keep me happy? I did look at Retro TV sked, and all night long that one station would keep me happy :) I am thinking that maybe as a FTA newbie, I might be better off to just start off wth the basic non motor system. Any thoughts good or bad? THANKS again for all the help!

Larry :)

I'd get a motor and install it if you just have the one dish. I think you will be happy with just G10 especially if you are into network type shows, but KU has alot to offer 4:2:0 wise on most of the satellites. There's not too many backhauls for sports on G10 if you are into sports. I'd go with a bigger dish than 31" too if you have the money and room. Here in Orange County, California (Los Angeles to Arte), 31" is too small on alot of feeds.

Looks like a good system but I would spring for the extra $15 and get a 36" dish. One of the transponders on galaxy 10 is kinda weak and a 30" you will have some signal loss. I'm in Minneapolis and I have a fixed 36" dish for G10. The 30" does work but its shaky at best on that one transponder.

You can always add a motor later. The receiver you listed is a really good one (use it myslef) and a motor can be added to that later.

You'll love Retro TV :)

THANKS! I was thinking tht $15 is pretty cheap for the upgrade. Now to convince my wife that this is "needed" I did convince her that the gun show i am going to tonight is "needed" :)

according to your zip, you're in Waterloo. Depending on what you get now for networks, you can get all nets on G10 except for NBC & CBS.