Single vs Dual mode - What am I doing wrong?

navychop

Member of the Month - July 2014!
Original poster
Pub Member / Supporter
Lifetime Supporter
Jul 20, 2005
Northern VA
My son will be home from the hospital in about an hour, and I'm trying to get this working for him.

I've never used dual mode before. I am trying to set up a ViP722 TV2 output to a remote 36" analog SDTV. Following directions, I have set up the UHF remote, #2, to address 12. If I leave the box in single mode, I can change channels, etc, using the IR or UHF remote, so I know the remote is working. But the same programming appears on both TVs. If I shift to dual mode, the UHF no longer seems to have any effect. But changing channels using the IR remote changes the channels on both TVs. Disabling shared view does not help.

What have I overlooked? I'm trying to get SD viewing on TV2 independent of what's showing on TV1 in HD.

Are you sure you have the right connections connected?

Is TV2 on channel 3 or 4? If so, you're using the wrong coax connector.

Need to have TV2 on the TV2 coax connector.

EDIT: Nevermind.

I have no idea.

Other than make sure it's on the TV2 RCA output?

Soft reset?

Unplug for 15 seconds?

On TV2, when you press "cancel" on the remote, is the icon in the top left green (says "1") or blue/purple (says "2") while in dual mode? That will tell you if it's a connection issue.

While in dual mode, the UHF remote will not operate TV1 unless you enable TV1 UHF and set it to the right channel.

Last edited:
Er, ummm, ahhh- GEE. Aw Shucks.

The trouble was in the cable receiver liveware interface.

Last night, when I hooked it up, I plugged the RCA cables in to the TV1 jacks, not the adjacent TV2 jacks. :eek:

Moved them over. Seems to work fine, now. DUH!

Thank you for your time.