Season Pass and HD Channels

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Gator5000e

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Apr 16, 2004
Orlando, Florida
Sorry if this has been asked and answered but I searched and did not find an answer.

I am new to the DVR world - just got the HD DVR from D* in the new special offer. When I set up a season pass, will the TiVO automatically look for the show in HD or do I have to set it up through the HD channel to record in HD.

For example, I will be recording the new season of Lost. If I just go through the Season Pass set up, will TiVo find my local station and record the HD broadcast (channel 9-1) or will it just record the SD broadcast (channel 9)?

Thanks for any responses if anyone understands my question!!

The season pass is dependent on which station you set the season pass on.

so for Lost, if you set it up on your SD station then it will record that, but if you setup Lost on a staton that provides HD then you'll get it in HD (prolly 9.1 if you are using a OTA antenna).

If you use the search option and look for a show by name you will be presented a list of stations that match that show name, and you'd pick the station that provides the HD version of that show.

For example I enjoy HBO Boxing in HD. To make sure I get Boxing from HBO in HD I have to set my season pass to record Boxing on the HBO HD station (70). If I just set the season pass for boxing on regular HBO then I'll just get the SD version of the show.

Also, a nice feature of the HDTivo is that when it finds duplicate listings of a show, it will clearly label them as such

AMERICAN CHOPPER (76 DSHD)
AMERICAN CHOPPER (278 DSC)

--or--

LOST (ABC WXYZ Channel 9)
LOST (WXYZDT)