Rate my line of sight, I think I am good, but want opinions

Status
Please reply by conversation.

timmy1376

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
May 20, 2004
Manhattan, KS
OK, guys, I finally found out today I am 99% sure we are moving to another place here in town, and I THINK I have a pretty great line of sight East to West. I am attaching a picture with East, West, and South marked. The camera is basically where the pole will be mounted. I plan on putting the pole in concrete and the dish will be about 3 feet off the ground. The house is about I am guessing 35 feet away, and that tree to the west is maybe 40 feet hight, and 50 foot away.

So do you all think I will have a good shot of getting the entire arc? The motor will come next after I get settled in. I have a 76 cm Channel master now, but would like to find a 40 inch Primestar dish to mount. We'll see about that later. The run of cable will be close to 100 feet to the computer, hopefully that will not be a big deal.

Be warned, the picture is 132 KB, so download at your own peril.

thanks for looking

PS Can anyone guess what the building in the background might be??

Attachments

• easttowest.jpg
    easttowest.jpg
    103.6 KB · Views: 251
Looks really good to me!

I benefit from being a few thousand miles above sea level, AND on a hill of sorts here.
I don't feel so bad moving out here to UT these days :D
Anyhow, my eye-clometer says you're really well off.

CharredPC,
Do you live in a mobile home too? I thought I had read that in one of your posts? I live in one now, and am very thankful to be moving somewhere with a basement, but you probably don't have to worry about tornadoes out there...

Very nice picture, I know one moderator here who would kill for that view of the Clarke Belt. It looks 98% clear with just that small tree (close to house)to the far west maybe being a problem in the future.