not receiving expected channels

Status
Please reply by conversation.

d1mbu1b

Original poster
Nov 7, 2005
Melbourne Florida
I am new to FTA and this board, so please excuse my ignorance.

setup
pansat 3500s, stab hh90 rotor, 75cm dish, digital Ku band LNBF, RG6 cabling. stab rotor set at 28 degrees; dish elevation set at 41 per instructions for an effective 60 degree elevation.

satellites with lock
30, 74, 79, 87, 91, 95, 97, 99, 101, 103, 105, 116,8 , 121, 127, 129 not sure why i don't get 123?

problem
I only seem to receive a subset of the available FTA channels on each satellite. For example I think I should get PBS on AMC 3 (87) but I only get bloomberg.

questions
1 If I get a good quality level on each of these satellites, why doesn't the 'channel search' find all the FTA channels?
2 Do I need a different LNB?
3 Would a circular linear combo LNB help?
Any information you can provide would be appreciated.

Thank you for letting me participate in this forum, it is an excellent source of information. But I seem to get lost with all of the info.

The company I purchased my system from just refuses to answer any questions and actually seems annoyed by the fact that I called them.
The dish and rotor they supplied wasn't even physically compatible. I had to cut and grind the mounts so they didn't bind up on each other. the customer service is non existent. I should have used one of your gold sponsors but they were the only one that had the pansat in stock.

Hopefully the proliferation of FTA users will create a business case for broadcasters to provide additional programming to us.

Respectfully,
Jeff

Hello and WELCOME to the SatelliteGuys.US FTA forum :welcome

"Channel Search" may be only scanning the stored transponders.
Not all channels scan in even with blind scan, now and then you will have to enter them manually.

Make sure the L.O. is set correctly for the type of LNBF you have..

Standard = 10750

Universal 9750-10600