Newbie, Polish Dish for Dad

Status
Please reply by conversation.

napstercc

Original poster
Dec 26, 2014
Canada
Hello,

I am new to the Dish world and my Dad wants to watch Polish TV. We are based in Canada and we used to watch it from the DISH years ago from a friend who installed it for us.

We have 3 Dish antennas on the roof with 1 Antenna controller with a motor( or something like that).

Where do I start from now so that I can watch polish TV?
I guess I need to buy a box

Thanks for your help

Reactions: polgyver
:welcome to Satelliteguys.
TV TRWAM is on G19, 97W, and is the only Polish channel I am aware of. (Or at least 'was' as I'm currently in bad weather causing reception difficulties) For that a dish at least 30 inches across is necessary. Just one satellite so a 'controller' isn't necessary.
For the clearest recommendations what's needed is:
Some good pictures of the dish. Include any specifications (numbers, brand, model)of the LNBF on the dishes.( The component on the front of the dish the coax attaches to) Also of the 'controller" as this will let us know what you have. Then recommendations of what you need will be more accurate.

Save bandwidth uploading pictures. Use irfanview to resize them to web friendly proportions (640x480 or 800x600) of a few hundred kb instead of 2 to 3mb or more.

Reactions: polgyver
It should also be noted, for the the thread starter who in new to the FTA world, that the two channels that are currently unencrypted (TV Polonia ad Tele 5) were encrypted for a long time, and there is every possibility that they may re-encrypt, or completely disappear from the satellite, at any time. As far as I recall, TV TRWAM has never been encrypted, so is likely to remain free to view.