newbie here

Status
Please reply by conversation.

shocker510

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Apr 2, 2005
Johnson City,Tennessee
I'm new to the post and i'm glad i found it. I have a question about mounting the dish on a pole. I live in the 72.5w d-tv area and need 2 dishes. I was wanting to mount them both on one pole. I have heard alot about 11/4 inch galvanized with u-bolts. I got the 1 1/4 part but where does the u-bolts come into play.

to attach the two masts to it...

here ya go, i worked you up a detailed drawing of what you are trying to do

lol

Attachments

• polewtwodishes.bmp
    559.2 KB · Views: 124
I'm not an installer, but that is exactly how I mounted my dish several years ago, and I have had no problems with it.

dragon002 said:
directv belongs on the home if at all possible, and i am a tech, you will have a lot less problems

dragon

What do you have against a pole mount? I chose that method because I refuse to put holes in my roof. And mounting on the side would have meant the dish was visible from the street, something else I didn't want. So I mounted a pole in the ground, anchored to the eaves of my house, in the backyard. And shot over the roof. I have never had any issues with it.

sheridan said:
What do you have against a pole mount? I chose that method because I refuse to put holes in my roof. And mounting on the side would have meant the dish was visible from the street, something else I didn't want. So I mounted a pole in the ground, anchored to the eaves of my house, in the backyard. And shot over the roof. I have never had any issues with it.

didn't say i have anything against a pole mount per se.
with directv, the preferable mounting spot is the sidewall of the home or as most of mine are done, where the fascia board squares off at the edge of the house. i always discourage a roof mount here in western md / northern wv, because of snow and ice problems.