New to the game... no idea what to do.

Status
Please reply by conversation.

clueless

Original poster
Sep 23, 2005
Toronto, Canada
Pardon me for my ignorance, I'm a noob to satellite systems and the like.

I'm trying to aim a dish at the AMC-3 satellite to get FTA programming. My dish is a Multistar AT90-1 (90 cm) dish and I have a single Ku LNBF (Model: ASC321)

All I have to go by is the following information:

Azimuth: 190.9024
Elevation: 39.03071
Polarity: Vertical
Orbital Location: 87 deg. West

I have no idea what to do with this information, or what all this means. I'm in Toronto, Canada, and have a full view of the western sky and a partial view of the southern sky.

In addition, the polarization for the LNB is supposed to be vertical, but I have no way of telling whether my LNB is oriented the proper way. Shouldn't there be a mark on it telling me if its vertical or not?

Can anyone please help?

Thanks in advance.

Hopefully this will get moved over to the FTA forum.

You'll need Line of sight to South-South West. Your numbers you posted look about right. You need to correct the azmuth for magnetic deviation. My guess is that you're looking at about 203 on a compass. You'll also need to skew the LNB or dish around 9° clockwise.

Azmuth - the direction to point the dish. That number you posted appears to me to be 'true' vs. magnetic.
Elevation is set on the dish (how high it points). There is usually an elevation scale on the dish.
Polarity / frequency / etc are all settings for your receiver.

Thanks Shawn95GT.

I think I follow what you're saying. After I posted, I decided to research Azimuth and Elevation and found them to mean the direction and height respectively to which to point the dish. I'm guessing then that the "87 deg. West" information is irrelevant, when pointing a dish, if I already know the azimuth and elevation values.

It's all clear, except one thing: what do you mean by "skew the LNB or dish around 39° clockwise".