New Install Question

JamesThurber

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Jan 12, 2005
Spokane, WA
I am an obvious newbie and have done some reading here about backfeeding and watching multiple receivers on tv's. I had a 522 and a 322 installed. I would like to be able to change the channel on our main tv and get either the tv1 from the 522, tv2 from the 522 or the tv2 from the 322. I know that I need to use diplexers but I am not sure how I would do that. Currently the cabling in not intermingled meaning that the cables from each output only goes to the individual tv's. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Welcome aboard!

It's not hard to merge the 3 channels. The question becomes what are you going to merge them to, and where are they going?

It's by far easiest to use a separate network of cable for these three channels. No diplexers needed, just ordinary splitters - and maybe amplifiers depending on distances and such.

In other words, you'd be making your own mini-cable system.

If you must share cable between the satellite feeds and the RF outputs, then the diplexers come into play, along with splitter/combiners and it starts getting pretty messy.

Plan out where things are, where they need to go, and if you MUST share any cables.

Thank you for the welcome.