Installing 2nd receiver?

fifa51886

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Jul 4, 2004
I have a one room system installled and I just bought a second receiver, the 301. I am new at this and was wondering how to go about installing the second receiver. I have a dish 500. Help would be appriciated.

Welcome aboard fifa!

"Dish 500" is a good start, but not enough info. What model is your old receiver? What types of LNBF(s) are on your Dish 500? Are there any external boxes in the coax feed from the dish? You can go here to see some pictures of the various types of LNBFs. Take note as to what the DishPro logo looks like - we need to know if you've got that or not.

You may have to do a close examination of the LNBFs to determine Single vs. Dual or Twin vs. Quad.

Note that if you have a Twin or Quad, you're going to have an easy time hooking this up - just add another good (2150MHz or better) RG-6 feed cable, ground block, and go. Grounding is critical - don't blow it off.

If you don't have a Twin or Quad, it'll probably be harder, but not bad.

I have a dual lnb it is the one with two heads in the front of the dish. My receiver is the model 3000 which i purchased about 5 years ago.

Ouch. PLEASE look at the link I posted before and here again.
http://www.switchinfo.info/lnbs.html

If you have a Single/Dual, you have a pair of Single/Duals. You say "two heads". Do you mean 2 eyes in 2 separate boxes? I'l bet on that one - because you have an SW-21 attached to them.

Now the CRITICAL question is whether the LNBFs are Singles or Duals.

If they are Singles, you will HAVE to replace them. If they are Duals, you'll need another SW-21 - no big deal at all.

Yes two eyes in two seperate boxes. I am not sure if they are singles or duals.