Hello! I am new to the FTA stuff...

Status
Please reply by conversation.

ssy080

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Apr 26, 2005
First of all, thank you for reading this thread.
I haven't even bought a FTA system yet, but thinking about it.
I have some questions about FTA systems.

1. I live in Calgary AB, Canada, what channels/satellites would I be able to get?

2. I am looking at pansat 2700a or coolsat 4000 pro. Which one's better? I heard that coolsat is better, but looking at the specs, I couldn't find much difference. Only difference I could find was that pansat could get 5000 channels programmed, and coolsat can get 4000 channels. Shouldn't it be other way around? I like the look of coolsat though! :) I would like to know the difference between the two.

3. lyngsat, Galaxy 11 (Cannot put in url)
In this page, would I be able to get MBC (South Korea) channel? Or is it just the yellow ones that I could watch?

4. Dish. I couldn't find 36" and up dishes from ebay. Only one was 33". I don't know where to get it here in Calgary because it was just few days ago when I first saw a FTA receiver. Is it better to get 36" and up dish? (If you know a place in Calgary or in Canada(website), please mention it for me)

5. Is motorized dish a easier way to get the satellites? Is it worth getting it?

6. Is there a webpage for Canada for figuring out the true south, Mag. Dev. and the satellite angles?

If there isn't much difference between coolsat and pansat, I'd rather get pansat with motor.

Thank You! I will add more If I can think of any more questions.

Hello and welcome to the SatelliteGuys.US FTA forum!

Check out www.kusat.com as they have a lot of what you are looking for and they are a Canadian company!

A Motor is a MUST. IMO. But you can add it anytime!

Your true south satellite will be at the same orbital position as your Longitude!