Status
Please reply by conversation.

adwan001

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Jun 26, 2005
St. Paul, MN
zero signal

Well, after a long wait, I have put my FTA system together. Details: M1 system from Sadoun (80cm Fortec Dish, Fortec star ultra, .4 universal LNB, and a satcontrol SM3D12 motor. Location: Saint Paul, MN, Lat: ~45, Long: ~93. I set the motor at 45 degrees, the dish elevation at 38 degrees and it's pointed to the south (I am assuming AI6 is my south satellite).
OK, guess what, I had zero signal quality on the screen and the sat finder reading is 1/10 no matter where i turn the dish or change its elevation. Talk about a frustrated first timer :confused:
One point should be mentioned here. 2 trees sit to the SE and SW but the sout is clear.
I know I'll get perfect clearance from trees and electric cables, etc if I mount it on top om my roof, but since this is my first attempt I thout the garage roof will do.
A desparate who is in desparate need for help. Thanks

adwan001 said:
Well, after a long wait, I have put my FTA system together. Details: M1 system from Sadoun (80cm Fortec Dish, Fortec star ultra, .4 universal LNB, and a satcontrol SM3D12 motor. Location: Saint Paul, MN, Lat: ~45, Long: ~93. I set the motor at 45 degrees, the dish elevation at 38 degrees and it's pointed to the south (I am assuming AI6 is my south satellite).

if you are using the motor, the dish elevation is 23

38 is for a fixed dish :)

I don't know your background but if you want to start slow try this.

Get a 18" dish and LNBF or just the LNBF and put it on the dish you have. DTV/Dish Network, they are the same. LO of 11250 Now DON'T use the motor yet. Just aim it by hand and find 82W, 91W, 110W, 119W. Note where this dish is pointing each time and you will get an idea where the sats are.

Now use the universal LNBF you have and try to find IA6, 93W? It will be right next to 91W. after that move the dish to IA5 97W.