Anybody in Northeastern US?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

jwhalen123

Original poster
Jan 3, 2006
Hi, I'm a newbie to this forum and FTA. I grew up with my dads BUD so I have a little background knowledge in C Band and Ku Band. I'm thinking of setting up a minidish (30") in Waterbury, VT. What are my chances of getting your normal channels like dish network and directtv get? Also, is dish network programming on the Ku band? If so, do the have FTA transmissions? Can I do this without having a motorized dish or do they usually come with the motor anyways? Thanks in advance for your help and patience!

-Jeff

WELCOME to the SatelliteGuys.US FTA forum. Those are pay channels/satellites and you will NOT get them with a FTA system. There are one or two channels and radio that is in the clear but thats it. You will need at least a 30" dish a KU LNBF and receiver for all the rest of the LEGAL FTA channels up there.

Thank You! Does Fox network have any FTA sites that I would be able to pickup in the Northeast if I had minimal obstruction? Gotta be able to get "The Family Guy" and "House" haha.

Also, I'm looking into getting this system with an upgraded 30" dish. Will this system work for me? And does the price sound good or does it raise some concerns?

I am in western NY state and get good recption with a 30 inch. To answer your network question, most of the networks are on FTA at any given time. However, they come and go so you should not make a purchase based on a particular network being available or not in my opinion. With free programming there is certainly no guarantee.

I second what Tracy said. You can pretty much always find the major networks somewhere.

Hi jwhalen, nice to see a fellow VTer in the FTA area :-D I live about 40 minutes from you in Waterville. If you decide to go FTA and need help with install, give me a yell and i will be glad to help.