What determines the E* locals?

hillsmi

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Apr 4, 2006
Michigan
I am a sub installer and have a question or two regarding the local packages that the customers receive.

I know that the DNS were disabled, and now customers have to receive locals from within their state, at least that is what I am experiencing with my installs in MI.

I am also aware that there isn't / shouldn't be any address shadowing to receive desired locals (at least from my retailer). Being an installer, I don't have anything to do with the sale / selling of the job, and all is to be confirmed before I arrive (yeah, right!).

My customers don't receive their locals from their closest city, which in many cases is not pleasurable to the customer, so much so that an install I converted from D* yesterday and was receiving locals from Grand Rapids, MI, is now receiving E* locals from Flint / Saginaw.

She called and left two voicemails today saying that she is not getting anywhere by calling E*, and wants the system removed and the D* put back up, all because she is not getting her desired locals.

Is there any way that a customer can have their local package changed to a desired / dedicated package from a particular city within their state, or is there anything I can do as an installer to remedy a problem such as this?

Thanks in advance for your replies and answers.

I am a sub installer and have a question or two regarding the local packages that the customers receive.

I know that the DNS were disabled, and now customers have to receive locals from within their state, at least that is what I am experiencing with my installs in MI.

I am also aware that there isn't / shouldn't be any address shadowing to receive desired locals (at least from my retailer). Being an installer, I don't have anything to do with the sale / selling of the job, and all is to be confirmed before I arrive (yeah, right!).