Total Novices Down From Lightning Strike!

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Lillian1961

Original poster
Sep 25, 2012
north central Kansas, USA
My husband and I had a GloryStar FTA system. Some weeks ago lightning struck next door, and our receiver wouldn't even turn on. We went on E-Bay and got a Strong Mini Digital Satellite receiver. The manual (which we had to download) was a waste of paper and the video we were sent to was no help at all. So, back to E-Bay and we ordered a used Fortec Star Mercury 2, which is exactly what we used to have. It won't pick up any stations,, either. We tried replacing the LNBF, nothing. Now, we did get a different brand of LNBF and we heard that this might be a problem, that we would need a professional to come with a satellite finder or something to aim our dish and LNBF. However, the technician here locally was clueless when we asked him about this, and he worked on our system before.

Can anyone help us get back up and running again?

Welcome to the forum, we would be glad to help you. If it is just from a lighting strike I doubt the dishes needs re-alignment. Most likely the settings in your receiver are not set right. What does it say on your LNBF, I will assume a LO of 10750?

Hi, and welcome to the best forum around. The only place that might sound better for advice would be the Glorysar forum on this website, but most everybody that is there is here and we will be glad to get you going again. I would have gone back to Glorystar or SatelliteAV to get replacement parts, but since you are now here, the Mercury II is a good receiver, the only minor problem being, it does not have the Glorystar firmware on it, but that list is now well out of date, anyway. I also will presume the dish did not move, so it should still be lined up.