Puzzled With My Installation

Status
Please reply by conversation.

drwindmill

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Aug 16, 2005
I tried installing a 3 LNB dish today and couldn't get any signal. I thought my dish was mounted too close to my building so I moved the dish to a tripod in the middle of my driveway, with no luck(also everything was level and my coordinates were set properly). It was kind of a foggy day, but my setup worked less than 1/4 mile away. One thing that did happen was when I removed my cable from the SAT IN peg it touched the top of the receiver and for a second chimed up and peaked at 92. Why would this happen? I am by no means a pro at this, but have done several installs. Any help or ideas would be greatly appreciated.......I also tried two different receivers and two different satellites and LNB's, a round and an oval.

the 92 spike was static electricity discharging. the new d-11s will fluctuate between 0 and 38 with no line attached.

Thanks for the help guys, just seems like the signal is not there. I never had this much trouble before. How long should I pause as I moved the dish slowly? Just seems like I should've picked something up by now.

damaged said:
You should always unplug all receivers from their power supply before messing with the coax, as you can damage the LNB(s). The numbers for elevation and azimuth you got, are only guides, you must gently adjust the dish side to side and up and down sometimes to get the signals. Below is the official installation/aiming guide for the 3lnb dish.

http://www.directv.com/learn/pdf/12429_00_AntennaManual_1D.pdf

Do think I maybe did damage the LNB possibly?

dont start this dumb cr*p, us techs go to a service call in the winter and arc the center stinger off of the ground block to see if there is power. (it is dark early in the burgh), you wont damage anything.

dragon002 said: