Status
Please reply by conversation.

gabshere

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Aug 20, 2006
Rison , Arkansas
ok guys i'm going out in the yard tomorrow and set up two primestars dishes
probably one at a time. so i will be posting back several times looking for some tips. i don't have a sat finder so its just me pointing the dish.
i will have the tv and receiver with me outside and its my first time
running the Coolsat 5000 ( or any fta unit) is there anything i should know about how to find a sat with it. my c-band dish is currently down and will be a few weeks before its up and running.

thanks for any tips and helpful hints

two dishes one is oval and one is round , i plan on setting up the round one and later adding a motor to it. ( reading another thread on that )

Keep us up dated... I just set up a Primestar dish aimed at G10R a few weeks ago only using a TV and the receiver, this forum is top notch! I picked up 2 more Primstar Dishes, one was free, the other costs me $10. I plan on setting them up aimed at G10R/IA7 and IA5/AMC4.... I want to get those 4 Sats for my living room TV... I really like the Primestar dishes.

You may have already read this elsewhere, but the elevation markings on the primestar dish (at least the oval one) is probably off. My elevation was supposed to be 36 degrees, but when I finally found the satellite the markings indicated 52 degrees. That caused more problems for me than anything.

What I usually do when setting up a dish, is I set the elevation to where it is supposed to be for my area, but the meter inline, get a nice strong signal, and when it is at the max, I then adjust the elevation, and max it out then. On the Primestar, I just keep a wrench on the elevation bolt and can quickly make fine adjustments - real slick! After I get the elevation and the azimuth maxxed, I peak everything for max signal. I love those Primestars!

ok thanks i'll keep those in mind no inline meter maybe i will get one with my next order ..