Only seeing even tp with 2.03 software

JohnHarvey

Original poster
Aug 20, 2004
I'm a new customer and the installation is not yet complete because the 522 does not see the odd tp on 105. Unfortunately, my locals (NW Ark) are on tp 23. I'm a newbie and the tech who is doing the install is baffled. Not the best formula for success.

The installation tech swapped every component of the installation: 522, switch, dish, cables, ground. When he checked the signal by connecting a 311, he got good reception i.e. even and odd tps for 110, 119 and 105!

DISH gave the tech some suggestions: e.g. "resetting the matrix" by running a check switch with 105 disconnected at port 2 of the switch (DP34) and then rerunning the check switch with port 2 reconnected. He was given conflicting direction about whether the first check switch should be done with the dish set to 500 or super. He tried it both ways.

Any suggestions?

:confused: John

sounds like a bad LNBf to me but he switched it out...im positive this would have bene said on here before if the 522 was doing this widespread.... quite interesting... i wonder if the voltage on the line isnt making it from the 522...

One of the thoughts was that the 120 vac line might be supplying poor power. I tested it under a 15-16 amp load (my wife's hair dryer) and the it dropped less than 5% from 119-120 to around 115-116. DISH said that the last satellite to get power is 105. Do they mean from the 522 to the switch? He had 105 in port 2. Does this make any difference?

AH - do NOT put 105 on input port #2 !!!
Port 1 = 119, port 2 = 110, port 3 = 105.

Don't know if that'll fix anything, but there's been problems otherwise.

Why even get involved and stress yourself out? Just let the guy do his job. In the end, it'll get done, and your blood pressure will stay low.

Still perplexed

SimpleSimon said:
AH - do NOT put 105 on input port #2 !!!
Port 1 = 119, port 2 = 110, port 3 = 105.