Newbie needs Dish help

Status
Please reply by conversation.
Thanks again!

Now, I know you guys don't recommend having newbies convert dishes, but I consider myself pretty experienced with computers (hardware) and other electronics; I'm just a newbie to satellites. From what I understand, if I were to get a hold of a cheap DirecTV dish, I could simply buy an LNB and a receiver from one of the sponsors and install it on the disc so I could receive linear signals.

Is this correct?

Mostly ;)... There are a couple of caveats... First, the normal DirecTV/Dish Network dishes are undersized for most FTA up there. You will pick up many transponders, but only the strongest ones with a 20" dish. Secondly, you will usually have to fabricate an LNBF holder for the dish, since the DirecTV and Dish Network dishes are designed to hold their LNBFs. This is not very hard, and has been done with great success using conduit hangers as LNBF clamps.

The DirecTV International (DirecTV World) dishes are large enough for most FTA transponders, but are harder to find. They also include a linear LNB. The same holds true for the Dish Network Superdishes, although the linear LNB they use is stacked (which introduces a few complications on your receiver setup).

Last edited:
I'm very thankful for the responses!

I realize the problem with small DTV/DiSH dishes, I was just thinking of jacking an LNB from one of them. I could have worded it better, but I've yet to sleep in a long time.

And I think I ran into another problem on the motorized dish setup... I do believe I need to put the dish on top of my house because of all these freaking trees. Most videos show them as on the ground. I don't think I would be able to get anything from the ground. Should I just get the stationary setup?

You could do a Temp Ground Install, try to get your True South Sat (or one close to it)
Just to save the trouble of going up n down a ladder Ten Thousand times :)