New questions

Status
Please reply by conversation.

GeoBible

Original poster
Dec 19, 2004
Hi I am very new to this. I just purchased a large motorhome and I am trying to keep my budget down. I see free to air sites if you have the units, is it true that it is legal or free. is there any other cost? is the 2500a good for free to air. or what about the winnexus unit. I am not bad at installing most anything but very new with satellite equipment and how it works. I was told that I would need a computer- I have a new toshiba satellite pro with media center laptop which uses the t mobile card which i suppose is a dialup connection. I will have no phone line in the motorhome. I also have a desktop pc not hooked to the internet. and will there be a problem if I use a flatscreen tv? That is if I can get a system that works good.
I sure could use suggestions.
Just tell me what will work and how much and where to buy if you will please.
I will be living in the motor home for quite a while doing my research so I will not need a home unit.
I do have an older twin 500 dishnetwork unit with older card that my brother gave me, prob. to old to be of any use?
Hope you can help.

Hello GeoBible, and WELCOME to SatelliteGuys.US FTA/MPEG-2 forum : )

Yes FTA TV is perfectly legal in every way and I think it would be ideal in your position, you would need at least a 30" dish, a receiver and a LNB.
There is no need to hook these systems to a computer as they come with the latest software already loaded and should last for quite some time, the only time you would ever want to hook one to the internet world be to upgrade the firmware to the latest version.