Mobile Dish Newbie Question

sportster

Original poster
Aug 16, 2004
Hello everyone. I have a question I hope someone can help me with. I'm new to the whole Dish thing. I've been a long time cableTV subscriber and just recently switched to satellite. So far I like it better; it's cheaper too!

Anyway, here’s my question. It’s I bit lengthy but help would be greatly appreciated.

I have a 2 room system with the 301 series receivers. What I want to do is add a mobile system to my mobile trailer as well so I can have TV when I "camp out".

I would like to buy the 522 receiver and put that in my house. Then use one of the 301 units and put in my trailer.

My question is can I just take one of the cards I already have and put it in the 522 DVR and use the other card in my 301 that I put in my trailer?

I called Dish Network and they said I have to buy another card for 4.95mo.

Since I won't be in my trailer and my house at the same time it's not like I can watch TV on 3 TV's at the same time. It doesn't seem fair that they want another $5mo for another card. Especially since trailers are only used for a very limited time each year.

Is there any way I can get another unit to work in my trailer without paying more $ each month?

I don’t really want to have to go through the hassle of a disconnect/reconnect a receiver every time I want to use my trailer.

Oh, the other thing is the phone line. I don’t have a phone jack for the trailer. Do I have to have that hooked up? I plan on locking out all the PPV channels for the receiver in the trailer. So would I still need the phone line hooked to the receiver installed in the trailer?

Thanks, I see mobile systems out there so I know it can be done. I just need some help with figuring out how to do mine.
:)

You have 2 choices. Move the whole box back and forth or pay the $5/month.