Help me find a good use for this dish :)

Status
Please reply by conversation.

scottc98

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Feb 28, 2006
Columbus, OH
All,

I have a Channel master 76cm eliptical dish that I have laying around that I'd like to find a good use for. Measurements are about 26 in height and 36 in width. Lnb arm is about 16 in in length. I already have a Fortec 80cm dish with a sm3d12 motor in use. Would this dish be better than the fortec I have (would require a new motor)? Only thing I can think of is for a secondary sat (stationary) on a select sat (may be able to get two at one set location ??) but that won't matter until I get a new DVB card.

What about for a location that my motor can't hit (23W<motor<143W) would it be good to hit telstar 12 (15W) or would hit need to be larger?

What about the microbud project? Would it work for C-Band?

I've uploaded some pics. If anyone has any ideas, please respond.

Thanks!!

Attachments

• channelmaster dish.jpg
    channelmaster dish.jpg
    423.1 KB · Views: 260
  • Dish mount.jpg
    Dish mount.jpg
    393.7 KB · Views: 187
looks just like a Primestar dish :)

You could pretty much do anything you desribed above :)

I have a fixed dish at G10 for easy acess aklong with a motorized setup

It's good for some snowy pictures on c-band. Some are quite good actually. Digital feeds on c-band won't work at least for me. I recommend a satellite that has strong signals for it too be stationary

landlocked said:
Hey Scott -- greeting from Dublin, OH. If we had ever gotten any snow around here you could have used it for a sled! :)

Yeah :)

its the damm weather around here lately that has stopped me from getting on the roof and fixing my motorized dish (alignment)
If its going to be wet out, at least it could be snow!

Iceberg,