Dish ViP 622 with SlingBox setup problem

Curlydog

Original poster
Aug 23, 2010
Ca
I searched the forums and could not find an answer - sorry if there is one already. I'm a newbie - so bear with me. I just installed the SlingBox Pro to my Dish ViP 622 - During the set up - it gets to the point where it is checking the watch tv on the internet and it gets to 70% and then Internet Explorer shuts down. I have tried it 4-5 times-starting over and it happens each and everytime at that step. But, I can access video and audio on my laptop now through slingbox.com just fine, even though the setup process never actually finished and the second issue - (maybe unrelated?) I am unable to control the virtual remote. The remote address on the DVR is 9 and I cannot seem to find the correct device listed on the SlingBox to get that to work. I am pretty sure those are two different issues - one is the remote issue and the other is not being able to complete setup (even though it appears to work). Whew - clear as mud? Is it possible to change the remote address on the DVR? I tried following the directions but all that happened is that it made my remote control inoperable. Help!

did you setup the ir blaster cables?

ie crash is a problem with the pc. you can try updating it and the .net framework to the latest releases.

Yes, I did set up the ir blaster. I even checked to make sure it was emitting a signal on both ends.

Also, I tried setting up through another computer and still the setup process froze at the same place in the process. So, it does not appear to be a computer issue.

When I setup my slingbo:mad:its been quite a while) you were limited to remote addresses of 1 to 4.

To change the address of the remote:
goto the system ifo screen - press menu twice
press and hold the sat button on your remote until all the mode buttons light up.
press a number from 1 to 4 (1 is best for DVR)
press the # button