Status
Please reply by conversation.

WalksInDarkness

SatelliteGuys Master
Original poster
Aug 17, 2005
Kekistan
Hi All,

I am a newbie, so sorry for the basic questions. I want to get the DirecTivo that they offer at Best Buy (free with rebate). But the girl working there was useless, and could not answer any of my questions. I know someone told me before that I have to run 2 coax lines into the box, in order to record while watching a different channel. My D* system is the current 4-room configuration, with a 4 output spiltter junction. Can I just add a non-powered 2 output digital grade splitter behind the box? Or do I need to get one of those "powered" splitters (the one at best buy has 8 outputs, which is overkill for me). The girl at best buy was claiming I needed to use another 4 output splitter, but that did not make any sense to me as it was not powered either (it was essentialy the exact same thing as the 2 output one).

TIA,
Will

Yes you need 2 lines to watch and record something at the same time. You can not just use a normal spillter as the tuners need to be able to send voltage out to tell the LNB's which transponder to look at. What you need is a multiwitch, I would suggest you replace the 4 output with an 8. You can get them for about $100. This way you have room later.

More questions...

Thanks for the info, it make sense. I knew the girl was wrong.
One more question: for the time being, could I just use the Tivo with one coax if I am only recording what I am watching?
My current philosophy is that is all I need right now, because I only need my Tivo for two things:
1) so I can record programs I watch, for my wife who works 2nd shift.
2) so I can pause programs while watching, when my triplets get obnoxious.
If those 2 things can be done with one line, I am happy.
I will add the 8-splitter when I build my new TV room in the basement. I don't want to drill any extra holes in my hardwood floor anyhow.

TIA for any answers,
Will