Basic Hopper Install in Motorhome

mchauvet

Original poster
Dec 17, 2013
Utah
I'm a newbie to satellite systems. I currently have a DISH Network VIP211k HD receiver and a Winegard GM-1518 Carryout automatic portable satellite TV antenna and I'm on the DISH pay-as-you-go plan. The satellite system works perfectly in the motorhome and at home. At home, we would like to replace our Tivo dual-tuner HD recorder with a Hopper. We would also like to take the Hopper with us in the motorhome when we travel. When I called DISH and spoke with one of their CSR's, they told me that I needed to get extra equipment and features and the Hopper would not work in the motorhome.

The DISH CSR told me that I had to include a minimum of 2 HDTV sets in our home in order to get the Hopper. We have 1 HDTV in the motorhome and 1 HDTV in our home and the 2 HDTV's are never used simultaneously, so we don't need extra equipment for additional HDTV's. I want to avoid any further DISH sales tactics and purchase only the equipment I need.

I can get a new Hopper from Amazon for just over $200. I know the Winegard GM-1518 antenna that I have will not work with the Hopper to record multiple programs simultaneously. I can also get any number of DISH satellite antennas from Amazon. I will be using the satellite dish on a tripod mount next to the motorhome. The question is which satellite dish antenna do I need to get? Another question is what other equipment do I need for a single HDTV install in the motorhome? :confused:

Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

You need a DPP1000.2 dish or a DPP1000.4. The best tripod is from TV4RV.com and it uses a tripod with adjustable length legs. Critical for vertical mast alignment on rough terrain.

I would recommend a good meter that generates a 22KHz signal to facilitate aiming the dish.