All new Optical Silver Ghost DWG7000

Status
Please reply by conversation.

GeoBible

Original poster
Dec 19, 2004
Hello, I received some very good information after posting some questions yesterday and then this morning I received some new suggestions from other post so now I have some more questions.
I am new to the satellite world.
I was close to buying a Fortec Star Lifetime Ultra with 90 cm dish and motor.
Then I ran across another page where everything I see is people having problems with them and some came flashed ? and some did not.
It seemed that most everyone there were having all kinds of problems.
So now I am starting to worry about the fortec.
Then today I am receiving information that there is a plug and play system that claims to be much better than anything out there including the fortec.
That system is on Ebay and is called a All New Optiacl Silver Ghost.
Cost is a little more. Hope someone can set me straight or give me more clues?
I hate when we have too many choices.
Then there was the winnexus unit that is very expensive?
I wish I could just get a complete package with all the bells and whistles that is ready to go but! price may affect my decision?
Thanks. :confused:

I have the Fortec Star Lifetime Ultra, and got it direct from a Fortec dealer they are in factory condition! The "Problems" start when crooks start to flash receivers with software to steal satellite service, most all current receivers use the same main chip so they are ALL subject to hacking. As long as you don't do that the receiver should work flawlessly for many years to come. My Fortec Star Receiver has never missed a beat : )

Let us know what kind of problems these people were having and more than likely it was to do with hacking. I think its a good idea to shop around and do as much reading as you can before you decide to leap in, I know you are keen to get started : )
Also all the members here who HAVE the Fortec seem to like it very much.