Advice for a good beginner system?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

123tim

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Oct 22, 2005
Pennsylvania
I am new to FTA, and have been researching FTA systems in the hopes of finding the perfect system in my price range. Unfortunately, it seems that I'm working with the wrong range.
It was suggested in this forum (obviously good advice) that I should get a receiver with blind scan and USALS.
Receivers with blind scan seem to be hard to find using my price range. The receivers that In my range have features like "autosearch" "auto scan" but not blind scan. Am I going to regret not having the ability to automatically search transponders for FTA signals? Is it hard to do manually?

I also am running into a feature called "DiSEqC" which I infer is connected to motor positioning. Is this related to (or the same as ) USALS? Is DiEqC a dumb motor drive while USALS is much more sophisticated?
As with the blind scan, will I regret not getting USALS, or could I get by with
another sort of manual positioning?

I was told that a 1 meter dish would be better than a 76 cm. I really would like to get the 1 meter, but would I be better off settling for a cheaper (smaller) dish and getting a better receiver with a blind search?

I have looked at so many systems that my mind is numb. Does anyone have any suggestions for a beginner system? I am currently comparing systems with which have three different Receivers: a Zinwell ZDX-7000FTA, a Traxis DBS-2500 FTA, and a BEC Sys 200. Any suggestions as to which might be better of the three?

I would like to spend $250 or less. (Less would be good.) Maybe this is unrealistic. To think that this started off by my wondering if I could pick up the NASA channel with an old direct tv system that was given to me.

Any advice or ideas would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance for any input.